How To Recover Your Facebook Password

A couple of years ago I lost my Facebook password. I did everything to recover my account and i couldn’t. Miraculously i was able to recover it a few days ago. I will explain how it went down below but before i do this, let me answer one of my reader’s question.

“I forgot my Facebook login password and can’t get on. What do I do? Can I have Facebook send it to me?”

No, unfortunately Facebook won’t email you your password. For a security purpose, that’s the right thing to do. I would hope that most sites with proper security don’t actually know your password. Instead, they just have a way to know that you’ve typed it in correctly. You can try the official Facebook way to recover your password but there is no guarantee it will work for you.

Facebook login password reset

Just below the login password entry field on Facebook’s sign-in page is a link:

Screen Shot 2015-04-21 at 3.14.09 PM

Click that and you’ll be taken to a page containing something like this:

Screen Shot 2015-04-21 at 3.14.51 PM

Enter your email address and if it is a correct address, they will send you a verification code.

Screen Shot 2015-04-21 at 3.15.59 PM

Because I confirmed that I am the rightful owner of the account by accessing the email associated with the account, Facebook now allows me to set my own new password.

Screen Shot 2015-04-21 at 3.16.43 PM

Click “continue” and you should be all set. Yah!

Tip: Sometimes they will send you a message similar to the one below if something fishy went on with your account.

Screen Shot 2015-04-21 at 4.18.05 PM

Hit “continue” and it will take you to the next page for further verification.

Screen Shot 2015-04-21 at 4.18.18 PM

Choose the verification method between your birthday or photos of your friends. If the information entered is correct, they will unlock your account, but if it doesn’t match then you will forever be locked out. No phone support,,,,,unfortunately.

Good luck.

About RM

I'm a coder. I have been for as longer as I can remember. I am also a writer, a healthy enthusiast, a real estate finder and a bunch of other things too.
This entry was posted in social media. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

